Black History Month 2019

Black History Month 2019 2019-10-08T14:49:20+00:00

Black History Month 2019

Every year in October, Croydon joins the rest of the UK in celebrating black history month.
Croydon BME Forum are working with Croydon Council to celebrate Black History Month in Croydon.

This year’s theme – R.I.D THE STIGMA (Representation. Identity. Diversity) will provide a focus on Black heritage and how young people feel they are seen negatively in the community, and want to change that by ridding the stigma and focusing on their true representation, identifying who they are and incorporating the diversity of all the different cultures and heritage to rid the stigma around young Black people.

With nearly 50 events across the borough during October, many of them free to attend, there’s something for everyone to enjoy including musical performances, film viewings, book discussions, history sessions, networking events and more.

The full guide is available here.

Tuesday 1st October
Launch of Black History Month 2019

Tickets

Wednesday 2nd October
Y.I.W.A.E Family Tree and Me
We explore family legacies and heritage for you to continue to build upon.

Tickets

Thursday 3rd October
Sound of Croydon

Tickets

Friday 4th October
Can we talk about Death?

Saturday 5th October
Apsara Arts – Bollywood Dance Lessons

Monday 7th October
BME Education Group (Raising the Education Achievement of young)

Tickets

Tuesday 8th October
BTEG Community Leaders – Past, Present and Future

Wednesday 9th October
BME Mental Health – Change the method , Change the Outcome

Tickets

Y.I.W.A.E Family tree Part 2
We explore family legacies and heritage for you to continue to build upon.

Tickets

Monday 14th October
16+  Apprenticeship event

Tickets

Tuesday 15th October
Intergenerational Care

“If Only Hair could talk”

Tickets

Wednesday 16th October
Young Business Entrepreneurs Event

Tickets

Y.I.W.A.E Family Tree and Me Part 3
We explore family legacies and heritage for you to continue to build upon.

Tickets

Thursday 17th October
Black Womens History  – Whats her story?

Tickets

Saturday 19th October
BME Market Day

Tuesday 22nd October
BTEG Perfecting your Pitch

Wednesday 23rd October
Y.I.W.A.E Family Tree Writing Workshop
We explore family legacies and heritage for you to continue to build upon.

Black Poppy rose

Tickets

Friday 25th October
Black Poppy rose Taster Workshop

Tickets

Wednesday 30th October
Black Poppy Rose Exhibition and Talk

Tickets